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BATTLETOME:
STORMCAST ETERNALS

DESIGNERS’ COMMENTARY,
FEBRUARY 2024

The following commentary is intended to complement Battletome:
Stormcast Eternals. It is presented as a series of questions and
answers; the questions are based on ones that have been asked by
players, and the answers are provided by the rules writing team and
explain how the rules are intended to be used. The commentaries
help provide a default setting for your games, but players should
always feel free to discuss the rules before a game, and change things
as they see fit if they both want to do so (changes like this are usually
referred to as ‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes are made,
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation
issue or other minor correction.

Q: Can you explain how Yndrasta’s “The Prime Huntress” ability works
with a contradictory effect like the Alarith Spirit of the Mountain’s
‘Stonemage Symbiosis’ ability?

A: The Prime Huntress triggers when the damage table of a
MONSTER is used to determine a characteristic or ability. As

both of these effects trigger at the same time, they are classed as
Simultaneous Effects (1.6.2). This means that the player whose turn

is taking place applies the effects of their ability first, then their
opponent does the same.

Q: Does the Drakescale Armour enhancement allow the
bearer to re-roll save rolls against attacks that have a random
Damage characteristic?

A: No.

Q: Can I use the Lord-Imperatant’s ‘Guided by Lightning’ ability to
set up a unit using the ‘Scions of the Storm’ ability more than 7" from
all enemy units in the same turn that the Lord-Imperatant was set up
using the ‘Scions of the Storm’ ability?

A: Yes.

Q: Can Holy Commands be issued and/or received by Unique units
and allied units?
A: Yes, if they have the necessary keywords.

Q: If I summon Ravenak’s Gnashing Jaws with a Lord-Arcanum,
which adds 6" to the distance the endless spell can move, should
Iinclude that additional movement when determining the
number of mortal wounds caused by that endless spell’s Ravening
Hunger’ ability?

A: No.

ERRATA, FEBRUARY 2024

The following errata corrects errors in Battletome: Stormcast
Eternals. The errata are updated regularly; when changes are made,
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2, this means it
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation
issue or other minor correction.

Page 107 - Command Traits, Master of the Celestial Menagerie
Change the rule to:

‘If this general has the Behemoth battlefield role and is on the
battlefield, subtract 1 from wound rolls for attacks made with melee
weapons that target friendly STORMCAST ETERNALS units that have
the Behemoth battlefield role’

Page 110 - Prayer Scriptures, Translocation
Add the following to the end of rule:
“That unit cannot move in the following movement phase.’

Page 110 - Mount Traits

Change the text beneath the header to:

“You can pick 1 HERO with the STARDRAKE, DRACONITH,
DRACOTH, DRACOLINE, TAURALON or GRYPH-CHARGER keyword
in your army to have 1 of the following mount traits.’

Page 111 - Unique Enhancements, Holy Commands

Change the text under the header to:

‘A Holy Command is a command ability that is a unique
enhancement. You can always take 1 Holy Command enhancement
for a Stormcast Eternals army. Each time you take a Holy Command
enhancement, you can pick 1 of the Holy Commands from the table
below and use it in the battle. If a rule allows you to take an extra
enhancement, you can take a Holy Command enhancement as that
extra enhancement, but if you do so, you cannot pick the same Holy
Command from the table below more than once.’

Page 111 - Holy Commands, Thunderbolt Volley

Change the rule to:

“You can use this command ability once per battle in your hero phase.
The command can only be issued by a friendly KNIGHT to a unit
wholly within 12" of them or by a friendly LORD or DRACONITH to a
unit wholly within 18" of them. The unit that receives the command
must be a friendly JUSTICAR or ANGELOS unit that is not reinforced.
That unit can shoot in that phase.’

Page 132 -Battle Tactics

Add the following battle tactic:

‘Secure the Battlefield: You complete this battle tactic at the end
of your turn if there are any friendly STORMCAST ETERNALS units
wholly within each large quarter of the battlefield and more than 6"
from all enemy units.’



Page 136 - Krondys, Ancient Master of War

Change the rule to:

‘At the start of the combat phase, you can pick 1 enemy unit within
3" of this unit and subtract 1 from the Attacks characteristic of that
unit’s melee weapons (to a minimum of 1) until the end of the phase.
The same unit cannot be affected by this ability more than once

per phase.

Page 137 - Karazai, Ancient Master of War

Change the rule to:

‘At the start of the combat phase, you can pick 1 enemy unit within
3" of this unit and subtract 1 from the Attacks characteristic of that
unit’s melee weapons (to a minimum of 1) until the end of the phase.
The same unit cannot be affected by this ability more than once

per phase.

Page 140 - Aventis Firestrike, Cycle of the Storm

Change the rule to:

‘Once per turn, before you allocate a wound or mortal wound to
another friendly STORMCAST ETERNALS unit within 18" of this unit,
and that wound or mortal wound would cause a model in that unit
to be slain, you can say that this unit will capture and return that
warrior’s soul. If you do so, that wound or mortal wound is negated.’

Page 140 - Astreia Solbright, Cycle of the Storm

Change the rule to:

‘Once per turn, before you allocate a wound or mortal wound to
another friendly STORMcCAST ETERNALS unit within 18" of this unit,
and that wound or mortal wound would cause a model in that unit
to be slain, you can say that this unit will capture and return that
warrior’s soul. If you do so, that wound or mortal wound is negated.’

Page 145 - Lord-Arcanum on Tauralon, Cycle of the Storm

Change the rule to:

‘Once per turn, before you allocate a wound or mortal wound to
another friendly STORMCAST ETERNALS unit within 18" of this unit,
and that wound or mortal wound would cause a model in that unit
to be slain, you can say that this unit will capture and return that
warrior’s soul. If you do so, that wound or mortal wound is negated.’

Page 147 - Lord-Arcanum on Celestial Dracoline, Cycle of the Storm
Change the rule to:

‘Once per turn, before you allocate a wound or mortal wound to
another friendly STORMCAST ETERNALS unit within 18" of this unit,
and that wound or mortal wound would cause a model in that unit
to be slain, you can say that this unit will capture and return that
warrior’s soul. If you do so, that wound or mortal wound is negated.’

Page 148 - Lord-Arcanum on Gryph-charger, Cycle of the Storm
Change the rule to:

‘Once per turn, before you allocate a wound or mortal wound to
another friendly STORMcAST ETERNALS unit within 18" of this unit,
and that wound or mortal wound would cause a model in that unit
to be slain, you can say that this unit will capture and return that
warrior’s soul. If you do so, that wound or mortal wound is negated.’

Page 148 - Lord-Aquilor, Keywords
Add the following keyword:
‘GRYPH-CHARGER’

Page 153 - Lord-Arcanum, Cycle of the Storm

Change the rule to:

‘Once per turn, before you allocate a wound or mortal wound to
another friendly STORMCAST ETERNALS unit within 18" of this unit,
and that wound or mortal wound would cause a model in that unit
to be slain, you can say that this unit will capture and return that
warrior’s soul. If you do so, that wound or mortal wound is negated.’

Page 162 - Vanquishers, Melee Weapons, Celestial Greatsword
Change the Range characteristic to 2".

Page 166 - Vanguard-Raptors with Longstrike

Crossbows, Champion

Change the last sentence of this rule to:

‘For rules purposes, the Aetherwing is considered to be a companion
(core rules, 22.3.1).

Page 174 - Stormdrake Guard, Draconic Onslaught

Change the rule to:

‘Once per battle, in your charge phase, you can say that this unit will
unleash its draconic onslaught. If you do so, you can re-roll charge
rolls for this unit in that phase.

Page 181 - Celestian Vortex, Summoning

Add the following to the end of the paragraph:

‘Only STORMCAST ETERNALS WIZARDS can attempt to summon
this endless spell”

Page 182 - Dais Arcanum, Summoning

Add the following to the end of the paragraph:

‘Only STORMCAST ETERNALS WIZARDS can attempt to summon
this endless spell”

Page 182 - Everblaze Comet, Summoning

Add the following to the end of the paragraph:

‘Only STOoRMCAST ETERNALS WIZARDS can attempt to summon
this endless spell.’



